I am bloody, bloody lucky!

Smiles and Moet champagne

A toast

I am very bloody lucky.

I could end this post right there but I will expand in the hope that my luck is contagious.

First, I have to clarify that I don’t really believe in luck. I think you, me, we make decisions which expose our good selves to the good happenings that are there for the grabbing (sadly, this does not flow into Lotto; although odds are greatly advanced if you actually buy a ticket). To me, luck is about being ready, willing and open to opportunity. And if you’re not open and available to the good luck happening all around you, you ain’t ever gonna see it.

I am not yet certain about bad luck; my theories are not quite so advanced. Because let’s face it, some bad happenings are just bad bloody luck.

But back to the good luck side of the coin, and here I am triumphing: I have the most amazing friends a gal could ever hope for, my family loves me (I could jest that this is an assumption, but I know that really, they do), I work with a great team in a “cause” I believe in with a boss who believes in me (make that bosses), I nailed my Master of Philosophy study after crawling in the cave of darkness until I burst into the light, I am healthy, happy and well and – best of all – I have this year and every year following to get excited about. AND I’M BLOODY EXCITED!!!!

So thanks BFFs, whanau, colleagues, Whare Toa build buddies, and everyone who supported me to where I am right now, right this second, today. Smooches to those down on their luck (you can have some of mine) and oodles of love to those who’s bad luck is taking them on a path beyond their control, you’re in my thoughts, prayers and heart.

As the photo description says: “This celebration breakfast is never going to end”, and really, why should it? First step, Sri Lanka; next step, the WORLD!

WHAT I SHOULD HAVE DONE TONIGHT

  • Organised stuff

WHAT I DID TONIGHT

  • Cleaned my fridge
  • Talked to my beautiful friends Becca and Nickolai on the telephone (old skool, right?)
  • Emailed my mum with things to do in Auckland (folks are house-sitting)
  • Organised some stuff (better than none, right?)
  • Ate yummy leftovers

Happy night all ♥

xx

PS Thank you to the wonderful and magical lender of the iPad so I could blog from Sri Lanka

PPS Thank you (??) to the generous giver of the Shewee for my trip away

PPPS Mike and Steve, you made my day!! 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “I am bloody, bloody lucky!

  1. Pingback: Happy poem « iheartprocrastination

Leave a comment