My new boss

Very cute kitten looking guilty

Gratuitous kitten photo that has absolutely nothing to do with post

My new boss has me working like a Presbyterian workhorse. I don’t mean up at dawn, rest by nightfall. I mean no frills.

No morning pleasantries. No “Top of the morning to you Belinda, my lass”. More like (if there was to be an acknowledgement) “Cracking on, are you?”. As a command, not a question.

And it turns out – even though I am 95% emotional, 5% rational – this form of leadership puts the air in my tyres.

It appears that someone who talks to me in 140 character bursts is exactly what I wanted. The ten-minute planning meeting – where words are not indulged – is exactly how I like to roll.

So gone are the back-to-back meetings where we discuss meetings about meetings and plan future meetings. No more reports about reporting on reports we reported on in a report. It’s solid GSD o’clock (Get Shit Done). And what a breath of fresh air*.

*Definitely not intended as a criticism of any previous boss; but this task-master is second to none. Expect great things in 2012!

Added to that, his leadership is to let us lead. He gives us the space we need to “crack on” and deliver (oh yes, he tallies the results). But right in the back end, he’s got our back. I’d like to say like a large, comfy pillow. But it’s probably more like a solid, wooden pew. Solid as.

And yes, I am still in the honeymoon stage, but I’m ready for the GSD hike!

WHAT I SHOULD HAVE DONE TONIGHT

  • Read my academic papers (I have paper one for bed)
  • Skyped my parents
  • Put away my Splore camping gear (erm, yeah… about that…)

WHAT I DID TONIGHT

  • Had sashimi + panadol for dins
  • Flossed
  • May or may not have eaten a bag of The Naturals Forbidden Fruit

Night all

xx

3 thoughts on “My new boss

  1. Pingback: I am bloody, bloody lucky! « iheartprocrastination

    • Corinne, that is such a sweet and generous things to say. Thank you. It means all the more from someone who doesn’t know me and feels they have to say nice things. I figure if each of us can write a few words and they chanhge the lives of a few people then the whole world will be transformed. All love to you! 🙂

Leave a comment